Clearing your Cache and Cookies in Chrome

Chrome is misbehaving

Written By Sharon Johnson (Super Administrator)

Updated at July 15th, 2020

Google Chrome 

In Chrome

On your computer, open Chrome.

  1. At the top right, click the ellipsis (the 3 vertical dots or more symbol) .
  2. Click More tools, then Clear browsing data.
  3. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.
  4. Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes.
  5. Click Clear data.

https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/32050?co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&hl=en


What Happens When Cache and Cookies are Deleted?

When you visit a website, it will sometimes save (or remember) certain information. Cookies save a user’s browsing data (with their consent) and cache helps webpages load more quickly by remembering images, videos, and other parts of the webpage from the last visit instead of needing to re-render everything with each visit.

When you clear your cache and cookies, all of this information gets deleted. That means that any passwords you’ve entered on a website will need to be re-entered and the load time of previously visited sites will increase because it needs to load the content of the webpage again.

Even still, a fresh start is sometimes necessary, especially when troubleshooting browser issues.

Was this article helpful?